• About us
  • Ferdinand-Möller-Stiftung


The Ferdinand-Möller-Stiftung was established in 1995 by Angelika Fessler-Möller (1919-2002) and Wolfgang Wittrock (born in 1947) in memory of the art dealer Ferdinand Möller (1882-1956) and his merits in establishing and saving expressionist art.

The foundation sponsors research in the field of expressionism as well as on Nazi art and cultural policies, and supports the documentation of art removed from German museums in 1937 as ‘degenerate’. One important focus of the foundation is the research centre ‘Degenerate Art’ at Freie Universität Berlin, initiated and financed by the foundation, as well as the support of numerous single projects, publications, lecture series, research projects, and colloquia.

The foundation initiated the research and exhibition project about Will Grohmann at the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden, and for the overall project, it made the largest financial contribution of all the sponsors, including financing the curator.

• Über uns
  • Ferdinand-Möller-Stiftung

Ferdinand-Möller-Stiftung

Die Ferdinand-Möller-Stiftung wurde im Jahr 1995 in Erinnerung an den Kunsthändler Ferdinand Möller (1882-1956) und seine Verdienste um die Rettung und Durchsetzung expressionistischer Kunst von seiner Tochter Angelika Fessler-Möller (1919-2002) und Wolfgang Wittrock (1947) gegründet.

Die Stiftung fördert Forschungsprojekte auf dem Gebiet des Expressionismus sowie der nationalsozialistischen Kunst- und Kulturpolitik und unterstützt die Dokumentation der im Jahr 1937 als „entartet“ bezeichneten und aus deutschen Museen entfernten Kunstgegenstände. Einen Schwerpunkt bildet die von der Stiftung initiierte und finanzierte Forschungsstelle „Entartete Kunst“ an der Freien Universität Berlin sowie die Unterstützung zahlreicher Einzelprojekte, Publikationen, Vortragsreihen, Forschungsaufträge und Kolloquien.

Die Stiftung initiierte das Forschungs- und Ausstellungsprojekt zu Will Grohmann bei den Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden und stellt für das Gesamtprojekt den größten finanziellen Anteil aller Förderer zur Verfügung, u.a. die gesamten Kosten für die Kuratorin.